Connie Hamilton, N8IO
Severson Award Winner

District Eight consists of the following counties:
Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs,
Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton
Regional Club: Southeast Ohio EMS ARA
District 8 Home
Ohio Section Home

Connie Hamilton, N8IO is 13th Severson Award Winner

Photo of Connie Hamilton, N8IO
and Joe Phillips, K8QOE
courtesy of Scott Yonally, N8SY, Ohio PIC

CONNIE HAMILTON, N8IO, Assistant Section Manager, Net Manager for Ohio Single Sideband Net (OSSBN)

For her dedicated work in representing the ARRL in Southeast Ohio and net manager of the OSSBN, Connie Hamilton, N8IO, of Marietta, was named the 13TH member of the Allen Severson, AB8P, (SK) Memorial Award. The announcement was made during the 2006 Ohio Section Conference (September, 16th) by Ohio Section Manager, Joe Phillips, K8QOE. The late Mr. Severson, who became a silent key in 1997, was a distinguished member of the ARRL Board of Directors and former Ohio SM. The sentence - "His dedication to serve amateur radio inspired a whole generation of Ohio Section Leadership," - is on every Severson memorial certificate. "In every thing she does for Ohio hams, Connie exemplifies the spirit of the late Mr. Severson," Phillips said in announcing the award. Beside running the Ohio Single Side Band Net (OSSBN), Connie is Assistant Section Manager for Southeast Ohio. In her many appearances at SE Ohio clubs, she is often the first ARRL official to speak at that club in decades. Connie was licensed WD8MIO in 1977 and joined the OSSBN to take up traffic handling the very next year. In the early 80s, she served as manager of the 8th call area Region Cycle 2 and received the OSSBN Merit Award in 1982. In 2000, she upgraded to Extra class and changed her call to N8IO. She is currently serving the latest of many terms as OSSBN Net Manager. This is an elected position. Connie is well known throughout Ohio as the "hug lady" as she expects a hug from every one as one would expect a handshake. At the Section Conference on accepting the honor, Connie lead the entire conference in an impromptu version of "Let me call you sweetheart." The award was established in 1992 as Ohio Ham of the Year and was renamed in 1999 to honor Mr. Severson.

© 2006-07, The Ohio Section of the American Radio Relay League